After seeing John McCain’s new commercial, “Safe,” in which he states he hates war, I decided to take a visit to his campaign webpage. I went ahead with clicking on his e-mail signup, but was greeted immediately with a security warning. Not knowing what to do, I took a screenshot of this intrusive prompt. Could McCain’s staff be sending a virus to me? Am I being watched as I click around his website? Why would McCain’s site prompt me with a security warning whereas Obama’s site invites me in? The security warning:
“You have attempted to establish a connection with “johnmccain.com”. However, the security certificate presented belongs to “*.johnmccain.com”. It is possible, though unlikely, that someone may be trying to intercept your communication with this website.
If you suspect the certificate does not belong to “johnmccain.com”, please cancel the connection and notify the site administrator.”
My message to everyone: be careful when visiting McCain’s site! Might as well go to Obama’s instead.
(Though this post is in good fun, the security prompt was completely real)
